Excellence Awards

AWG presents yearly Excellence Awards to retailers and community leaders for their individual and often unique efforts.

The purpose of these awards is to recognize retailers and community leaders who have demonstrated innovative, creative, and thought-provoking ideas, as well as to challenge others to identify new opportunities.

Every AWG member is eligible for an Excellence Award, regardless of store size, location, or length of time with AWG. Throughout the year we encourage stores to share their success stories so that we can recognize those members who demonstrate merchandising expertise. Click Here to see award criteria for each category.

2023 Award Winners

Lou Fox Community Service Award

The John McKeever Family
McKeever Enterprises
Kansas City, MO

Lou Fox Community Service Award

The Jim and Barbara Queen Family
Queen Enterprises
Paola, Kansas

Store Manager of the Year

Korey Daubenspeck
Riesbeck’s Food Markets
Cambridge, OH

Store Merchandising Awards

AWG presents Store Merchandising Awards in the following categories.


Harps Food Store
Fayetteville, AR
Owner: Harps Food Stores, Inc.


Ken’s Superfair Foods
Aberdeen, SD
Owner: Ken’s Supermarkets, Inc.


Sooner Foods
Sulphur, Davis and Tishomingo, OK
Owner: Sooner Foods, Inc.

Merchandising Event

Ball’s Price Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Owner: Four B Corp.


Elden’s Fresh Foods

Alexandria, MN

Owner: JTDM Alexandria Market, LLC

Food Service

Fairplay Foods

Worth, IL

Owner: Fairplay, Inc.


McKeever’s Price Chopper
Leawood, KS
Owner: McKeever Enterprises, Inc.

Center Store

Price Cutter
Fairmont, WV
Owner: G&T Food Services, Inc.


Ball’s Price Chopper

Kansas City, MO

Owner: Four B Corp.


Tony’s Fresh Market
Hanover Park, IL
Owner: Heritage Grocers Group, LLC

AWG Brands

Osceola, AR
Owner: Hays Food Town, Inc.